DSBN News:   More Previous Next

What's New

Kindergarten Open House

Important Links: Click on the links below for:

EQAO

EQAO Results

**NEW**

Emergency Plan Forms

Anaphylaxsis

Asthma

Epilepsy

Diabetes

General

Oral/Topical Authorization

 

 

 

Important Dates

**IMPORTANT NOTICE**

 

 

**PLEASE NOTE ALL SCHOOL LUNCHES ARE TEMPORARILY ON HOLD UNTIL COVID-19 has been resolved.

PLEASE VISIT SCHOOL CASH ONLINE FOR INFORMATION ON CLASS TRIPS, SCHOOL LUNCHES AND MORE

SWISS CHALET

PIZZA LUNCH

SUB LUNCH

PITA LUNCH

 

 

 

 

 

School Council

 

Follow us on Twitter - @princephilipstc

 

New Staff Welcome

We would like to welcome Mrs. Barrett to our grade 4 classroom and Mrs. Rauwerda who will be joining Mrs. Masterson in the grade 1/2 classroom in the afternoons.

 

Daily Parental Screening

***reminder that parents MUST complete the parental agreement acknowledging your role in assessing your child daily for Covid-19 symptoms. This can be found by clicking above on the Return to School Updates.

Parents and caregivers must assess their child daily for the following symptoms:

• Fever/chills (feeling hot to the touch, a temperature of 37.8 degrees Celsius/100.4 degrees Fahrenheit or higher)

• Cough that's new or worsening (continuous, more than usual)

• Shortness of breath (out of breath even when sitting or walking

• Sore throat (not related to seasonal allergies or other known causes or conditions)

• Runny, stuffy or congested nose (not related to seasonal allergies or other known causes or conditions)

• Unusual level of fatigue

• Headache that’s unusual or long lasting

• Nausea/vomiting, diarrhea, loss of appetite, stomach pain (not related to other known causes or conditions)

• Feeling unwell for an unknown reason


 

Upcoming Important Dates:

September 30th - Orange Shirt Day. Wear orange to honour Residential School survivors.

 October 1st - Terry Fox walk - Toonies for Terry

Students will be walking within the parameters of the school in their individual cohorts and adhering to proper social distancing guidelines. Donations in the amount of $ 2, 5, 10 & 20 can be made on School Cash Online (we cannot accept cash in the school at this time.) Thank you for your support!

October 2nd - Rowan's Law Day - to help raise awareness about concussion safety.

 

Pick Up and Dismissal Times

Parents are asked to remain behind outside the fence lines when picking up and dropping off students. Parents bringing students through the Ellen Circle entrance are required to stay behind the white painted lines.

September Start Up Newsletter 2020

Prince Philip 2020 Start Up Newsletter

 

School Supplies

Back to school shopping is always a fun activity that students and parents alike enjoy.

Students will not be sharing personal materials in their classrooms. Below is a list of suggested supplies should you wish to purchase items.
Suggested items:

  • pencils
  • erasers
  • crayons (K-Gr 3)
  • pencil crayons and/or markers (Gr 4-8)
  • glue stick
  • scissors
  • ruler (Gr 1-8)
  • calculator (Gr 3-8)
  • ***reusable water bottle (already filled from home to avoid congestion at the filling stations)


...WE ARE STRONGER TOGETHER!

 

Prince Philip spirit is now available online. Get your Royals gear by clicking the link below.

https://www.bigbearspiritwear.com/prince-philip/


____________________________________________

Homeroom Class Structure for 2020/21

5 Kindergarten Classes -Ms. J. Flatley, Mrs R. Bruegeman, Mrs. J. Tonini, Ms.R. Larcombe, Ms. B. Bridges, Mrs. B. Pohorly, Mrs R. McGregor, Ms. Workman

Grade 1- Mrs. Krahn

Grade 1- Mrs. Masterson and Ms. Rauwerda

Grade1/ 2- Ms. Kostecki

Grade 2/3- Mrs. Cutting

Grade 3/4- Ms. Feschuk

Grade 3 - Mrs. Butler

Grade 4- Mrs. Barrett

Grade 4/5- Mr. Steele

Grade 5/6- Mrs. Bolton

Grade 6/7- Mr. Kelcey

Grade 6- Mrs. Reid

Grade 7- Mrs. MacDonald

Grade 7/8- Mr. Krake

Grade 8- Mr. Millin

SSP- Mr. Smelko

Prep - Mr. McNamara, Mrs. Arp

LRT - Mrs. Bobko / Mr. McNamara

 

 

Teacher Email addresses

Val.Workman@dsbn.org  teacher                                                                     

Jenn.Flately@dsbn.org teacher

Rachel.Breugeman@dsbn.org DECE

Breanne.Pohorly@dsbn.org  teacher

Ronda.McGregor@dsbn.org DECE

Julie.tonini@dsbn.org  teacher

Tammy.florio@dsbn.org  DECE

Darryl.mcnamara@dsbn.org  LRT

Christine.Robertson-Bobko@dsbn.org  LRT

Charlotte.Purdy@dsbn.org  teacher

Michael.Smelko@dsbn.org  teacher

Shannon.Reid@dsbn.org  teacher

Rebecca.Bolton@dsbn.org  teacher

Robert.Steele@dsbn.org  teacher

Philip.Kelcey@dsbn.org  teacher

Lori.MacDonald-Moukperian@dsbn.org  teacher

Harold.Krake@dsbn.org  teacher

Ken.Millin@dsbn.org  teacher

Christie.Kostecki@dsbn.org  teacher

Christine.Masterson@dsbn.org  teacher

Karen.Butler@dsbn.org  teacher

Ingrid.Krahn@dsbn.org  teacher

Misty.Cutting@dsbn.org  teacher

Sandra.Feschuk@dsbn.org  teacher

Andrea.Cocco@dsbn.org  teacher

Kim.Gauld@dsbn.org   teacher

Becky.Bridges@dsbn.org teacher

 


Parking

We want all students and families to arrive at school safely each day. Please allow enough time to ensure you are able to find parking and get to school on time. Please do not park in the City Bus stop on Vine Street as you may get a ticket from our city parking enforcement. Please be reminded that the parking lot on Vine St. is designated for Prince Philip Staff Only. We kindly ask that you please use the parking lot and student drop off located on Parnall Rd. Please note that cars and buses will be using the same drop off lane. Also, please be considerate of our neighbours when parking on a side street. Thank you for being patient and help us ensure all of our students arrive safely at school.


ALLERGIES!

Please be aware that we have several students with life threatening allergies at Prince Philip. To ensure we keep all of our students safe we are requesting that NO homemade snacks or treats be sent to school for special events (i.e. celebrations, birthdays). If you wish to send a treat with your child, please discuss it with your child’s teacher and choose a store bought snack with the nut free label on it. Thank you for helping keep all of our students safe.

 

 

Our Commitment to Student Achievement

"Hand in hand, we learn together at Prince Philip."

Our Commitment to Student Achievement

We are honoured that you have chosen to send your child(ren) to Prince Philip for their education.

We are pleased to provide an outstanding education at Prince Philip Public School for our students. Innovative programs that meet the needs of all our students are taught by our dedicated and professional staff who care about your child. Our school provides extra-curricular opportunities that encourage the development of excellence, integrity and respect.

Our Board is focused on literacy and numeracy achievement and creating an environment where we are working together on our goal of success for every student. We also value the community partnerships and parent involvement which are so crucial to a successful education for our students.

We welcome your input and questions.

Yours in education,

Brian Baranoski

Principal

Safety Tips for Students

Prince Philip teachers have reviewed safety in the community messages with our students, and we recommend that parents and guardians also discuss these safety rules with their children:

1. Don't talk to strangers.
2. Always walk to and from school with a buddy.
3. Do not take short cuts through alleys, parks, fields, etc. even if they are well lit.
4. Let someone know where you are and where you are going.
5. If you suspect someone is following you, RUN! Go to the nearest safe place.
6. If someone makes you feel uncomfortable, go to the nearest safe place.
7. Walk confidently and be aware of your surroundings.
8. Never, ever get into a stranger's vehicle.
9. Adults will never ask a child for help. If an adult asks you for help, run to a safe place.

Should your children report a suspicious incident to you, please report these incidents to the Niagara Regional Police and then notify the school.